Your patronage is extremely appreciated. Please allow 7-10 business days for each order to be processed, plus shipping time. Thank you!

A Quick Look at Gluten Free Foods and Ingredients

RSS

There are certain grains and grain-like plants that are gluten free.   Corn flour, corn meal, grits, includes corn in any form. All Rice which includes white, brown, basmati and enriched rice.  Other grains include amaranth, buckwheat or kasha, millet, quinoa, teff, sorghum, montina and soy.

 

The following ingredients:
Annatto (used in food coloring).
Glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin (even when it is made from wheat)
Oat gum
Plain spices (with no other added ingredients), silicon dioxide, starch, food starch.
Citric, lactic and malic acids.  Sucrose, dextrose and lactose.
Gluten free baking products include arrowroot, cornstarch, guar and xanthan gums, tapioca flour or starch, potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla.
The following foods:
Milk, butter, margarine, real (not processed) cheese
Plain yogurt and vegetable oils including canola.
Plain fruits, vegetables, (fresh, frozen and canned).
Meat, seafood, eggs, nuts, beans and legumes and flours made from them.
Distilled vinegar is gluten free but Malt vinegar is NOT gluten free.
Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten from wheat. They are not gluten free if gluten-containing ingredients are added after distillation, but this rarely, if ever, happens.
Mono and diglycerides are fats and are gluten free.

Previous Post Next Post

  • Thomas Fogg
Comments 0
Leave a comment
Your Name:*
Email Address:*
Message: *
* Required Fields